Durham Region Zero-Emission Buses

Public Transit
Durham Region, Ontario
Up to $68 million
Durham Region, Durham Region Transit

Supporting the Region’s transition to electrifying its bus fleet

Durham Region, via Durham Region Transit, will procure up to 100 zero-emission buses (ZEBs) to replace existing diesel buses.

Fast facts

8,000 tonnes of GHG emissions saved annually
Quieter and more comfortable ride for users
Lower expected operating costs

As part of its Climate Change Action Plan, Durham Region plans to transition its bus fleet from diesel to ZEBs in the next ten years, and the CIB investment helps achieve that goal.
Our investment will finance a portion of the 100 ZEBs which Durham Region plans to purchase through 2026 and will be repaid from overall cost savings as measured against costs of an equivalent diesel bus.

Benefits of CIB’s Involvement

Our Zero-Emission Buses Initiative assists transit agencies and school boards in transitioning their fleets to modern, environmentally friendly vehicles. The financing, in the form of direct loans, can cover a portion of the higher upfront capital cost of ZEBs compared to diesel buses. We enable our partners to modernize their bus fleets on an accelerated basis by taking advantage of our flexible financing options.

Learn more

Durham Region

Thank you to our partners at the CIB for their investment in our battery electric buses, a key priority that supports the Region of Durham’s Corporate Climate Change Action Plan and Community Energy Plan. DRT’s commitment to reducing energy use, costs and greenhouse gas emissions with the electrification of transit vehicles will create a cleaner, low-carbon future.

John Henry, Regional Chair and Chief Executive Officer
Durham Region Transit

Battery electric buses are just one of many innovative projects that support DRT’s E-Mission Zero goals. We are pleased to be taking this very important step towards improving customer experience while making transit more sustainable, safer and cost effective.

Shaun Collier, Mayor of Ajax and Chair of the Transit Executive Committee